Edin Burrow

After leisurely sleeping in, Rachel and I hit up the Camden Market in the few hours that we had before our train to Edinburgh would be leaving. It was like the Venice Beach of London! It was massive and confusing like a maze, yet filled with a ton of cool jewelry, cute clothes, and other random shit, with really crazy storefronts.

533881_4941910435326_520625636_n

Finally, we had to depart London to go to Edinburgh. The journey lasted several hours, making it so that we arrived in the night-time. I met some of Rachel’s friends once we got there, and we all had a chill night eating pizza together.

The following day, while Rachel was in class, I set out to explore the city! I absolutely loved Edinburgh. It’s so cute, rainy, old, and… Scottish. I felt inspired to curl up in a café and read, which I did for a couple hours. Afterward, I stumbled upon a castle (you know, just casually). It was up on a hill and so gorgeous, with a panoramic view of the city (who knew that Edinburgh was near a body of water?) and its green hills. I took pictures with my disposable camera because I had misplaced my camera charger and thus decided to kick it old-school; all of the photos that I do have of the U.K. were stolen from Rachel ;). Then, descending the hill upon which the castle stood, I found a lovely park full of leaves changing colors and a giant monument paying tribute to the dude for whom Scotland was named… I think. I subsequently walked a ton and did some shopping- in particular at this adorable, tiny boutique full of girly gifts.

Once it got dark outside, I returned to Rachel’s flat, where we got ready to go out to a jazz bar! Several of Rachel’s friends met us at there, and for most of us it was our first time being at a jazz bar. At first, there was a 15-piece band playing, and the small club was filled to the brim with people who were at least 40 years older than us. We were thus awkwardly standing in a corner with each other for a l’il while. However, once that band was done playing, most of the old people left and we were able to grab a table. A small, more “hip” band then came on, and they were so good! So what do Rachel and I always do anytime there is music playing somewhere? Start a dance party, of course! We thus went to the center of the room and started dancing, just the two of us, which led to a huge group of people all dancing together. It was a ton of fun.

311220_4941452903888_1360117026_n

374402_4941457303998_524629389_n

^Us with the sax guy! (the one with the mustache 😀 )

The next day, I didn’t do anything the entire day, until Rachel, me, and her friends all went out to a reggaeton bar for the night. It was Tuesday night and subsequently wasn’t very poppin’. However, we still wanted to go out (yet were all broke), so we ended up going to the only other free nightclub. It was kind of a strange place; one floor was playing 80s music, and the other was playing hardcore rock music. We were perplexed, yet once the hardcore floor started playing a Foo Fighters song that we all liked, we decided to stay just to hear it. However, they then started playing all of this throwback rock/pop music from the early 2000s such as one might have heard at a middle school dance. Embracing our guilty pleasures, we decided to stay and ended up dancing crazily for the next couple of hours to “Stacey’s Mom,” “What’s My Age Again?”, “Hey Now You’re an Allstar,” and other classics.

Then the next morning at the butt-crack of dawn, I had to fly back to Paris. It was there that I learned the hard way to NEVER FLY ON RYANAIR. DON’T BE FOOLED BY THEIR CHEAP FLIGHTS, THEY WILL CHARGE YOU EXORBITANT PRICES FOR THINGS YOU DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT, LIKE PRINTING YOUR FUCKING BOARDING PASS AT THE AIRPORT AND HAVING A CARRY-ON PLUS A PURSE.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

